RSS

Ramadan: Day 11 reflection. Like finally!!!!

21 Jul

Starting Ramadan this year was a bit daunting, the time factor and the first time for me where the children would still be in school well into the second week of the fasting month. I tried to plan, be strategic and preserve as much energy as possible. Once it began my perceptions changed. I was busy planning but Allah being the best of planners knew that He was not going to burden His servants with more than they can handle, everything by His grace fell into place, even when the children became difficult to handle I made excuses for them and myself and found ways to change the direction of the imminent frustrating and angry place where we always end up. So once I had figured out that this Ramadan was not going to be as arduous as I first perceived I started thinking, thinking about why we fast and the ways in which for this one month people change, people really change and you can see it. I am in awe of this month, I realised this today, day 11 of Ramadan that this is my security blanket and I am already scared for when it passes.
In one day everything changed, the day Ramadan began, just a few days before, the months were normal, there was no hype about one’s spiritual state, no hype about making resolutions, what to quit doing or start doing, there was no hype about the Quran!!!! Now everyone is reading it, making heartfelt and devoted supplications. I found out a few people I encounter on a daily basis are Muslim only because of this blessed month! It doesn’t only change people, this fasting month really changes the mundane and repetitive cycle of most days, as it brings to the fore, focus, determination and a zeal to use every moment productively in the search for spiritual attainment and for answers to our supplications, imagine if we were like this all year round!?
My Ramadan reflection for this day is that if it was not for this amazing month, this spiritual exercise this month of rehabilitation, as a friend put it (Ramadan Rehab), there is so much good that we would not discover. Good within other people is one but most importantly the good and the super spiritual abilities we harness within our own souls, we would not know we possessed them. The bonus is, in this month ONLY, you don’t even have to look deep, it all brings itself to the surface, now what do we do with it??????????????

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 21, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
